Friday Blaque List 27

What Iā€¦

MISS

The way, as a kid, I used to just walk up to people and say, “Hey, you wanna be friends?

kids-friends

Now, there’s all this adult protocol that must be followed.

Bummer.

.

REMEMBER

Nobody ever said, “No.”

Kids always wanna be friends with everybody.

.

USED TO DO

Just run right over to somebody & go, “Let’s play!

Kids & adults alike, they always smiled and jumped right in.

They didn’t look me over first to asses whether my physical appearance warranted their friendship.

meangirls

They didn’t ask me what I do.

skeptical-look-meryl-streep

They didn’t care if I was wearing sandals without a pedicure, if my hair was wild & had a few twigs in it, if my lips were dyed red way outside the lip line from cherry popsicle juice.

If I held out my hand, flashed a wide grin with missing teeth, and lisped, “Leth be fwends!“, they immediately grinned back, took my hand & off we ran to play with abandon.

.

FEELING

Nostalgic.

.

GOING TO DO NOW

Run up to someone & go, “Hey, wanna be friends?

(I’ll let you know how that goes…)

nervous-nerdy-nail-biter

.

How do you make new friends, now?

.

Blaque List

sylverblaque-blaque-list

12 thoughts on “Friday Blaque List 27

  1. I notice kids ability to do this constantly and marvel each time. It doesn’t even have to be spoken, kids just sort of use body language to indicate an openess to joining in a particular game and then suddenly they are off. At three, four five, they seem able to do this effortlessly.

    • Hi, Julie. Thanx for this comment – it is so true! I love that you pointed out how they don’t even need to say anything because the openness of their body language conveys their acceptance. They have yet to develop societal guards, or to close off to strangers. They pretty much like everyone. Sigh. How can we bottle that & add it to our lattes? šŸ˜‰

    • I’m sorry, Eleni. šŸ˜¦ My heart goes out your inner child…

      And, oh yessss. Shoes! Shoes! And more shoes! Nothin’ like bonding over a gir’s best friend (they say it’s diamonds, but really, it’s SHOES) šŸ™‚

What are your thoughts? Leave a Reply...

