Healthcare in the Brazilian Amazon

What do you do for healthcare if you live in a dense rainforest?

No doctors. No ambulances. No hospital.

Twenty million-plus residents of the Archipelago of Bailique in the Brazilian Amazon rely, not only on extensive knowledge of natural healing botanicals, but also on Brazil’s military.

.

How do you think your family would fare living in the Amazon with intermittent military doctor visits as healthcare?

.

World News Wednesday

sylverblaque-world-news-wednesday

10 thoughts on “Healthcare in the Brazilian Amazon

  1. Well, I wouldn’t want to NOT have doctors convenient, but with the exception of the year I had cancer, I usually average about one doctor’s visit a year. Too many Americans think doctors are supposed to compensate for their poor living habits. Medicine is one of the things Americans seriously over-consume.

  2. I will go the natural, botanical healing way any day of the week over western “medicine.” I guess my biggest concern – and a sincere one – is how much longer will the rainforests be there before we raze them to the ground.

  3. No doctor close – no me living there 😉 Natural healing is a big thing in my life, but I often need a doctor, so I would never move to a place where there isn’t none or where I have to go to see one from army lol

    • I understand that. I’ve been in situations while traveling to remote areas where I’ve needed a doctor but since there weren’t any, I had to be treated by village medicine men. But I was astounded by their knowledge of & skill with natural herbs, wraps, tonics, etc. They could really give Harvard-trained doctors a run for their money!

  4. Well, since my family of 7 hasn’t been to the dr for most of the past decade or two, I imagine we’d be just fine. I believe in “extensive knowledge of natural healing botanicals” FAR more than the AMA.

What are your thoughts? Leave a Reply...

