I HAVE AN IDEA

This flies right past ‘Food for Thought’ into the realm of ‘Food for Life’…

juwannadoright

“Great minds discuss ideas; average minds discuss events; small minds discuss people.”  – Eleanor Roosevelt

There is no question that at different points of our lives and even at different times of the day we allow our minds to operate on settings of either “small” or “average”.  We spend a fair amount of time there.

“Good morning, Mrs. Smith,” we say to our neighbor.  “How are you doing after your surgical procedure?”  Here’s an example of our discussing both a person and an event.  It’s a normal part of our conversation with our friends and acquaintances.  But we could elevate this to that third level by saying, “I am going grocery shopping this afternoon.  Would you like to go with me – or is there anything I can get for you so you don’t have to exert yourself and can rest up?”

Now I will admit that extending an offer…

View original post 1,036 more words

One thought on “I HAVE AN IDEA

  1. I disagree with her on just one point. It just might change the world if we each took some responsibility for our neighbors. I love my automatic garage door, my washer and dryer, and my air conditioning – but when people walked and rode horses, hung their laundry out to dry and spent all summer with the windows open there was a whole lot more neighborliness. They took a greater interest in what was happening in the next house – even when that house was a mile away. I really don’t want to return to washing my clothes in the stream with the lady next door, but I miss the feeling of community that this nation once had.

What are your thoughts? Leave a Reply...

