2012 Apocalypse Cancelled?

mayan-calendarWhat if the 2012 apocalypse scenario was all a big mistake?

What if the Mayan calendar doesn’t really end on December 21, 2012?

What if their calendar really continues?

For centuries?

😯

 

As reported by The Washington Post, a team of archaeologists in Xultun, Guatemala recently found a small room in Mayan ruins where royal scribes wrote on walls like a blackboard, keeping a running record of astronomical details for the complex Mayan calendar.

This find reportedly “destroys any notion that the Mayans predicted the end of the world in 2012.”

Why?

Apparently, the new find is older than the Dresden Codex – the most famous of the Mayan calendars.

Says archaeologist David Stuart of the University of Texas, who worked to decipher the newly discovered glyphs, this new calendaris going to keep going, and going for billions, trillions, octillions of years into the future. Numbers we can’t even wrap our heads around.”

2012-new-mayan-calendar-discovery-xultunThe virtually unexplored Mayan city of Xultun, with its hundreds of buildings erected across nearly 16 square miles of jungle, has never been professionally excavated. William Saturno, the Boston University archaeologist who led the discovery expedition, guesses that plenty of other surprises await excavation.

In fact, Saturno is willing to “bet anyone a million dollars” that mankind will still be here in 2013, and far beyond.

What do you think?

Are we still doomed, or will we be yukking it up in 2013?

.

World News Wednesday

sylverblaque-world-news-wednesday

20 thoughts on “2012 Apocalypse Cancelled?

  1. Pingback: December 21 2012, A Mayan Joke « Darc Xed : Louder Than Noise

  2. Pingback: Life in the Year 2013 – Coast to Coast AM « Hidden Agendas

  3. Anyone who bought the story that the Mayans predicted the end of the world needs to have their head examined. These are guys who though a bunch of hairy, sweaty Spaniards were their gods. Come on people.

  4. I love this! I had to reblog and share on my site as well. For those of us who love Mexico and the Mayan traditions it’s nice to see such a fresh take on the “world’s end” news. Thanks for sharing.

    • You’re welcome! 🙂 I honestly don’t think the Mayans were predicting doom. I believe they were charting a cycle of renewal which, rather than destroy us, will set us on a path of new life. Of course, we may not see it that way as our tech blinkers. But it’s the long-term result we’ll eventually embrace. What do you think?

      • I agree wholeheartedly. I never believed it was a dire prediction of the end of the world. Rebirth and renewal was something they held sacred so why we jumped to the conclusions we did always surprised me.

        • Didn’t you get the memo? We’re the kings & queens of conclusion-jumping. 😉
          But, really, I think there are a lot of us on the side of apocalyptic rebirth & renewal. 🙂

  5. Reblogged this on Yapa Now Travel and commented:
    I love this blog and am so happy to share this. You all know Mexico is dear to my heart and of course, that mean Mayan culture as well.
    Now it’s time to plan that Mexico vacation so you can find out what all the hooopla is about! Enjoy!!

  6. I love myths and lore, so I’ve always had my ear to the ground for this sort of stuff. Ancient Aliens is de rigueur with me. Long before 2012 became a sensation, I’d heard about it as the end of a cycle, but also as the beginning of the next cycle. Wish I had a reference to offer, but it was long before civilians even knew there was a world wide web – so you’ll just have to take my word for it. I did get a good laugh out of the fact that Snookie’s baby was going to be born on 12-21-12 though.

    • Look at that – something else we have in common. 😉 My ear is right next to yours on the same ground – love this stuff! And whatever did we do before Ancient Aliens?? If you haven’t read any of Zacharia Sitchin’s books, you absolutely must. And as for Snookie’s apocalypse baby…meh. Whatever. 🙄

  7. Damn! Wish I’d known this before I ran up my credit card bill. Looks like I’ll have to pay it, now. Sure hope my Kindle books sell! I will need some cash!!
    I just stopped by from SITS to say hello. You have a very interesting blog!

    • Lol! 🙂 Me, too! But don’t lose all hope – those archaeologists could be wrong. You know, every year science discovers that something we thought was green turns out to be purple. 🙄

      And thanks for the kind words, Eva. 🙂

What are your thoughts? Leave a Reply...

