Exposed

first-love-adolescents

Going thru my high school journals, I found pages of songs I wrote while in the throes of emotional turmoil.

This one was about my first love…

 

 

EXPOSED

I love you so much, it hurts inside

And frightens me to death.

Knowing that you own my heart,

Control my every breath.

.

How did this happen?

I fought to keep perspective from the start.

I’m scared…it’s not like me to suffer

From conditions of the heart.

.

CHORUS

Exposed

I’m scared, I’m frightened.

I’m open to attack.

Exposed

What if you hurt me?

How do I live with that?

Exposed

Your love is like a threat

Of everlasting highs,

Or is it just a promise of

Endless years of anguished cries?

.

When things are good I’m on cloud nine,

So hard to see the ground.

When they’re not, the world is black…

Reason to live cannot be found.

.

How did you sign the lease to my heart

In solid ink?

I wish you’d used a pencil…

I wish I’d had more time to think.

.

CHORUS

Exposed

I’m scared, I’m frightened.

I’m open to attack.

Exposed

What if you hurt me?

How do I live with that?

Exposed

Your love is like a threat

Of everlasting highs.

Or is it just a promise of

Endless years of anguished cries?

.

Blaque Book

sylverblaque-blaque-book

Exposed” song lyrics  2012 Sylver Blaque

11 thoughts on “Exposed

  1. Pingback: The Stranger Song | Sylver Blaque

What are your thoughts? Leave a Reply...

