Diary of an American Girl’s Journeys to the Forbidden Land (Excerpt 10)

Cuba 2005

sylverblaque-cuba

Photo: Sylver Blaque / Habana, Cuba

 Oct. 9 (cont.)

From our bus, the group leaders & Armando pointed out sites, and narrated interesting tidbits of info.

But really, I saw most of Havana blur by peeking thru the open top window of a bumping yellow school bus – sans shock absorbers, which accounts for most of the blurred, misaligned photos I took today.

Frustrating!

But still exciting!

When we were finally belched out of the big yellow belly, it was in the center of an enormous parking lot with nothing much to see. We were at the Plaza de la Revolución, and the only noteworthy things in sight were two large buildings on each side of an endless expanse of cement baking under the tropical sun.

sylverblaque-cuba-ministry-of-the-interior

Photo: Sylver Blaque / Habana, Cuba

One of the buildings had a 6+ story, black wire image of Che Guevara on it with a quote scripted across the bottom in his handwriting: “Hasta Victoria. Siempre,” (“Until victory. Always, Che.” This was his closing signature on letters he wrote during and after the Revolution. It’s also the name of a song about him.)

Armando informed us that this building, the Ministry of the Interior, was where Che ruled as Interior Minister after the 1959 Revolution victory. Across from the Ministry building was an enormous white statue of Jose Martí sitting before the most sky-reaching structure I’ve ever seen (other than the Twin Towers before they fell).

Armando explained that this huge, empty cement lot was Revolution Plaza – the very place where thousands of civilian Cubans celebrated with Fidelistas (Fidel Castro’s revolution army guys) on that long ago day in 1959 when the Cuban Revolution toppled Batista.

Wow.

fidel-victory-speech-plaza-de-la-revolutionI looked around with new eyes.

I could almost hear the cheering, see the throngs of Cubans past… hugging each other, pumping fists into the air, waving arms, not bothering to wipe away tears of joy, intense relief, gratitude, hope for the future.

Victory for the oppressed. This is where it happened.

It felt good standing there, soaking that in.

sylverblaque-cuba

Photo: Sylver Blaque / Habana, Cuba

The red and blue, 3-striped Cuban flag with its single big white star rippled in a rare breeze before the statue of Jose Martí.

“Is that the Communist flag?” someone asked.

“It’s the Cuban flag,” Armando answered flatly. “There is no Communist flag.”

His expression was unreadable, and I couldn’t help wondering what our Cuban facilitator thought of Americans.

Was that a stupid question to him?

Did it make him wonder about the ignorance of Americans?

His face gave no clue to his thoughts, and I caught myself watching his reactions closely throughout the rest of the day to see if I could detect some sign of what Cubans really think about us.

Later, when I commented to him on the similarity of our country’s flags, he proudly explained the significance of the colors and design of the Cuban flag:

cuban-flag Red = blood of those who died in war of independence

White = purity of ideas (liberty, freedom)

Blue = color of sky, and ocean which surrounds Cuba

3 stripes = the three areas that Cuba was divided into: east, central & west

Single white star = 1 star because Cuba is united as one.

I couldn’t help notice, as he talked about his flag, that Armando sounded a lot like the only other Cubans I had known – Osvaldo and Mañuel – speaking with heartfelt pride about their motherland.

This, as it did with Osvaldo and Mañuel , surprised me a bit.

From what my own country says about Cuba, I guess I didn’t expect Cubans here to be proud of such a reportedly horrible place…

fidel-castro

Read All Excerpts

of 

Diary of An American Girl’s Journeys to the Forbidden Land.”

.

sylverblaque-blaque-book


12 thoughts on “Diary of an American Girl’s Journeys to the Forbidden Land (Excerpt 10)

  1. Pingback: Diary of an American Girl’s Journeys to the Forbidden Land (Excerpt 24) | Sylver Blaque

  2. Pingback: Diary of an American Girl’s Journeys to the Forbidden Land (Excerpt 4) | Sylver Blaque

  3. A friend visited Cuba last year and is returning again next week. As you said, she found the people so full of love for their country, she couldn’t help but fall in love with Cuba as well. (PS ~ I love your style of writing ~ it brings me in, takes me on a journey.)

    • Thanks so much for the kind words, Patricia! 🙂 I love bringing people along with me on my journeys. Like your friend, I fell hard for Cuba. It’s the most confusing & beautiful place ever. No matter how many times I go, it never fails to surprise me. Sometimes good, sometimes horrible, but always emotion-stirring…

  4. I’ve been to the plaza de la revolucion and I remember that image of Che. I took a photo of it too! Our tour guide also spoke about Cuba with so much pride. My Spanish isn’t very good so I don’t remember as much as I would like to. I wrote down what I could, but there are so many gaps. I wish I had documented the trip better. I love your posts because they’re informative and they sharpen my fuzzy memories of this trip. Thank you!

    • You’re welcome – thanx for your comment! 🙂 Yeah, I know about those memory gaps. That’s why I spend hours writing in my journal when I travel. I usually sleep only a couple of hours at night on trips because I’m up most of the night journaling. On long, bumpy rides across a country, I whisper everything I’m seeing & feeling into my little recorder. I’m glad you’re enjoying your trip back to Cuba via my posts 🙂

  5. Pingback: Diary of an American Girl’s Journeys to the Forbidden Land (Excerpt 1) | Sylver Blaque

  6. Pingback: Diary of an American Girl’s Journeys to the Forbidden Land (Excerpt 2) | Sylver Blaque

  7. Pingback: Diary of an American Girl’s Journeys to the Forbidden Land (Excerpt 3) | Sylver Blaque

  8. Pingback: Diary of an American Girl’s Journeys to the Forbidden Land (Excerpt 5) | Sylver Blaque

  9. Pingback: Diary of an American Girl’s Journeys to the Forbidden Land (Excerpt 6) | Sylver Blaque

  10. Pingback: Diary of an American Girl’s Journeys to the Forbidden Land (Excerpt 8) | Sylver Blaque

What are your thoughts? Leave a Reply...

