The Eyes Have It: Hunters

hunter-with-dead-bullHave you ever wondered how hunters can kill animals for fun, sport, or any other self-satisfying reason?

Or have you instead wondered why non-hunters are such bleeding hearts?

In this 2-Part Foreign Eyes Friday, I’ve compiled quotes from proponents and critics of the hunt.

Have a look.

Are you able to see hunting through foreign eyes?

 

Hunters

(Note: In the interest of privacy, these respondents shall remain anonymous.)

“The urge to kill lies within us all, especially as children. Without proper channelling of these instincts, children often grow into physically abusive and/or murderous adults. Can any of us honestly say that, as kids, we didn’t shoot birds with our slingshots and bb guns, or set homemade traps for other critters? I say that if you can say that, then you either never had an opportunity as a child, or you’re an exception to the rule of human nature.” — Russ Chastain

hunter-with-gun

It’s a way to connect with nature on a level you can’t understand unless you do it.”

Animals suffer all the time. It’s really no different than one getting hit by a car.”

“Hunting is the most profound rite of passage from boyhood to manhood.” 

“We wouldn’t have kids shooting up their schools if they had game to hunt. I believe this. I started my kids, my boys and my girl, on their twelth [sic] birthdays.”

People have been hunting for food for thousands of years…if you got an issue with it, take it up with your God.

Animals were put on this earth to harvest and eat for food, not to overpopulate and die of starvation, sickness, disease, and illness. They are a renewable, valuable resource.”

Hunting is for people brave enough to do it. If you can’t stomach it, stay outta the woods. And stay off my right to kill wild animals. Notice I say wild animals. We’re not out there shooting up yor [sic] pet rabbit.”

What’s the difference if you go into the woods and shoot it or go to the supermarket and buy it after some one else killed it?

meat-in-package

Children need to be taught patience and courage. Hunting teaches them that and more.”

I was 13 years old when I started hunting with my dad. I still remember my first kill like it was yesterday, even though it has been 11 years. I cried for three days straight, could not eat or sleep either. My dad was good about it though, talked me through it, and I am still hunting. It is harder for some than others, but it gets so much easier thank god, lol.”

Hunters have deep respect for their prey. We don’t dance on the carcass.”

Hunting helps restore the natural balance of things. The thrill of seeing wildlife is something you just can’t get from a trip to the zoo, and without hunting, we’d have considerably less wildlife to look at. The hunter cares a lot more for the animal he hunts than does the non-hunter.”

Hunting teaches compassion for life.”

I was like, Yes! Fear the wrath of man! I got a rush. I was showing the animal that I’m better, more powerful, and able to control their existence.

dead-deer

“It doesn’t make me feel like a man. I’m putting healthier food on the table and I do it myself. That is what makes me feel good — providing for me and my family and not relying on someone to do the dirty work for me.”

When you kill an animal, it’s yours. You own it. You bought it with your blood, sweat and tears. Minus the tears.” 

It gives me a feeling of satisfaction. Because in order to kill an animal, you have to make a good shot. When I hit one, I feel proud.

Anyone who eats meat, wears leather, or makes use of any other part of an animal should really wake up and think about how that animal got on their plate. You want us to stop hunting? Are you ready to stop eating meat and making use of leather?

How can you call an animal in the wild helpless, but be ok with a semi full of cattle being led into a slaughter house and killed one at a time?

I’ve been shooting groundhogs as long as I can remember, don’t think I felt anything besides excited. First deer, however, rattles your nerves. You’re so focused on not being seen, on making the shot that you start to shake. I actually had to close my eyes and calm myself, listening for the deer to get closer. After the shot your body just dumps endorphins and adrenalin into your system, it’s almost a high.”

It’s an animal. It’s no different than the fly you swat. If it is, prove it.

dead-ducks

How do you see hunting?

What are your thoughts about these hunter’s views?

.

Check out an alternate view on hunting in Part 2 of this post:

 The Eyes Have It: Non-Hunters

 .

Foreign Eyes Friday

sylverblaque-foreign-eyes-friday

11 thoughts on “The Eyes Have It: Hunters

  1. Pingback: Patricia Randolph’s Madravenspeak: Killing wildlife should be understood as an addiction | Wisconsin Wildlife Ethic-Vote Our Wildlife

  2. Pingback: Animals Are People, Too | Sylver Blaque

  3. Pingback: Yemeni Wedding | Sylver Blaque

  4. My husband grew up in a rural area where hunting season was as sacred as going to church on Sunday. He and his brother shot squirrels and other small animals and sold them to people, in order to make spending money. This was the rural south, in the 1940-1955 era. I was raised on the west coast. I can shoot a gun, and could feed my family, if circumstances warranted. I was brought up to feel compassion for old people, little kids, and animals. Compassion is awakened in a child by asking them, “How would you feel if you were struck by an arrow, or hit with a bullet?” , and the “put yourself in their place” continued, as they mature. THIS type of thinking allows an individual to get beyond the ego, this erroneous so-called “kill instinct”, and the mistaken thought that hunting makes you powerful over animals, or “makes a man out of you.”

    When we married, we moved to a small town. My husband was a law enforcement officer for 32 years. During that time, we founded a wildlife rehabilitation group, that nursed back to health those birds and animals that were injured or orphaned. You cannot believe how many non-“game” birds and animals were rehabilitated or mercifully euthanized by veterinarians offering animal care – gratis, mind you- to our group. These birds were shot or maimed by people who thought it was “macho” to shoot some bird that were beneficial to their habitat.

    We specialized in owls. Great horned owls can live for 20 years, and in that time can eradicate 20,000 rodents. We had barn owls that could wolf down 7 or 8 mice and at least 2 big rats per day. Think of the environmental balance that these birds create, without poisons, or disruption in the natural order of things, or pollution for the other living things in the area.

    Yet, still, misguided hunters-perhaps they shoot anything that moves?- continue to shoot and maim owls, songbirds, fawns, baby rabbits, etc.
    I ask you, does shooting a baby rabbit, or a songbird make any one feel “superior” to that species? If it does, I truly feel sorry for that poor, wuss SOB.

    Some hunters are tanked- up yahoos. They just want to drink beer and shoot damn near anything that moves. Others take crossbows, and think they are some sort of “Master of all their domain”
    This is usually some urban person who seeks to express their internal psyche rage, and purge themselves of the frustration of having an insufferable boss.

    Some, the trophy hunters, are no more than civilized sociopaths. An animal head, or head and two front legs are just something to hang on a wall. Just something to make others of their socio-economic group and show respect, and a certain amount of envy, which feeds into their own diminished sense of masculinity.

    OK, some people just do not make enough money to put food on the table. They NEED to hunt, or their family starves. I feel sorry for anyone is such dire circumstances as to have to hunt animals, just to provide protein to their family. These poor folks usually have an education that is sorely lacking for them to make a living.

    All in all, hunters are a truly misguided lot, and an anacronism, in the 21st century.

    My husband-on his own- abandoned his childhood hunting mindset, and is a champion of wildlife. He supports animal rescue groups, and on our ranch we have rescued many injured or orphaned critters, and have had over 3 dozen feral cats spay/neutered, at our own expense. We feel fortunate to live on a large ranch, a ranch that we feel really belongs to those indigenous creatures on the property.

    Our neighbor agrees with our philosophy, so between us, we have a complete section of land (640 acres) adjoining a national forest- a huge area- in which wildlife can feel free to roam, eat the hay we put out, along with drinking the water in the containers we provide in dry times.

    We would like to thank the several multi-pointed bucks, countless does and fawns, three huge covey of quail, rabbits, wild turkeys, the occasional bear or mountain lion, and the feral cats roaming these undisturbed woods, for allowing us, and the nice neighbors behind us to live on THEIR property. It is a pleasure to be accepted, because we offer no threat to their right to claim this land as their own.

    • What a beautiful story! Thank you so very much for sharing this amazing trip through an important transformation in your life. Bravo to your husband for evolving from hunter to animal savior, and bravo to you both for the multitudes of animals for which you’re providing safety and stress-free (i.e. hunter-free) living on your vast acreage.

      I must add that my favorite part of your story is your recognition of our borrowed space on THEIR land…how enlightened you are! 🙂

  5. Pingback: The Eyes Have It: Non-Hunters | Sylver Blaque

  6. I want to thank you for writing this piece. These quotes are fabulous and you have done some great research to get them. As anti’s we say that hunting is an addiction, like a drug. Therefore, they need to keep doing it to get that high. Which makes them serial killers. We also know that they feel animals are “less than”, so the hunters can kill without conscience and it makes them feel powerful and in control. The hunters are the ones saying these things about themselves, we (anti’s) just confirm it. As far as the quote from Russ Chastain; I’m not so sure about that. I think it’s learned. When I was a toddler (and yes I remember this) I use to pull the legs off of Grand Daddy Long Legs out of curiosity. My family were, and still are, hunters. I use to watch my dad fill his shotgun shells. I use to watch my grandmother chop snakes in half with a shovel before they could get into the house. Sympathy has then been taken from the child and killing becomes normal,the social norm. Even growing up in a household with no pets, but with domestic violence, teaches the child that harm is OK. There is a correlation between domestic violence and animal abuse/killing by the way. No,I think it’s learned.

    • Thanx, Shannon, for this great comment. I agree with you that kids learn violence – I don’t think it’s inborn. They experiment with things like you describe with spiders, but I believe that’s childlike curiosity – not pre-meditated violence for pleasure. Children learn, imitate and accept as normal what is modeled for them. If the people around them don’t value animal life, the child learns that animals are expendable.

      You said: “We also know that they feel animals are “less than”, so the hunters can kill without conscience…” I could not have said this better. This is exactly what lies at the core of hunting, I believe. There are many people who believe animal life is inconsequential. Therefore, killing them without repurcussion is perfectly acceptable. As hard as I’ve tried to understand this view, I just can’t. My belief is that life is life, no matter what form it takes. And as a Higher Power created ALL life, we must honor and respect it’s hand at work. I don’t believe you can respect a life by snuffing it out for entertainment.

  7. I’ve been hunting and have killed a few deer before. There is a certain thrill to the hunt if you know what you’re doing. I don’t take any particular pleasure from the actual killing. Always try to get a one hit kill shot. When I would kill a deer, we would eat the meat, use the intestines for sausage, sell the hides to a crafting shop, and grind the rest up as fertilizer. It might sound cruel to some, but guess who’s going to survive when civilization comes crashing down.

    • Civilization is going to come crashing down for sure because of global warming. What makes you think there will be any animals left for you to kill?

What are your thoughts? Leave a Reply...

