Retrospectiveglanceback

rose-colored-glasses

Whatever happened to that little one

That used to live in me?

The one with rose-colored glasses,

And giggles, so carefree?

.

The one mere toys could fascinate,

The one who played in the present,

Not knowing or caring what lay ahead,

So trusting it would be pleasant.

.

CHORUS

Where did I lose her?

Where did she go?

I wish I had her eyes

Blinding me from all the pain,

Disguising all the lies.

I long for her.

I want her back.

I reach down deep inside,

In search of traces of the one

Who seldom cried.

.

What happened to that little one

That used to live so free?

Her world a snow-white nursery

Untainted by reality.

.

Her innocence so very real,

It tore into the heart.

Her blessed gift of ignorance…

She and I are worlds apart.

child-in-white-nursery

CHORUS

Where did I lose her?

Where did she go?

I wish I had her eyes

Blinding me from all the pain,

Disguising all the lies.

I long for her.

I want her back.

I reach down deep inside,

In search of traces of the one

Who seldom cried.

.

Blaque Book

sylverblaque-blaque-book

Retrospectiveglanceback” song lyrics  2012 Sylver Blaque

2 thoughts on “Retrospectiveglanceback

  1. Pingback: Not Knowing | Sylver Blaque

  2. Pingback: Memory of Madagascar Rainforest | Sylver Blaque

What are your thoughts? Leave a Reply...

