The Longest Road

Song: The Longest Road

            Artist: Morgan Page

                           Country: Vermont

                                              Genre: Techno

morgan_page

Mood:

What can I say? For me, this song is an essential travel necessity. I can forget to pack water filters, but I can never forget to upload every possible dub of this song.

It’s gotten me into places I would otherwise have never seen, and out of situations I may not have survived.  Warriors literally put down their guns & picked up this rhythm – from the gangster-controlled tent camps of post-quake Haiti, to the underground world of Afghanistan’s hip-hop culture.

I’ve danced myself down to sweat puddles to this song in nearly every country I’ve been to – with everyone from children to a 74-yr. old man with one leg using a length of lead pipe for a crutch!

The places that knew this song, rocked it endlessly. The places that didn’t (and didn’t have internet access), begged & bribed me to send it to them when I returned home.

There’s just something inexplicably visceral about this song that crosses generations, countries, and cultures…

.

World Music Monday

sylverblaque-world-music-monday

2 thoughts on “The Longest Road

What are your thoughts? Leave a Reply...

