Whose Truth?

bacteriaNasty, putrid things are growing inside me like a cancer.

A result of ‘truth.’

Which is supposed to be a good thing, right?

But this is the kind of ‘truth,’ I believe, most of us turn away from.

 

It’s a kind of knowledge that makes you question things you once thought unquestionable.

Things that, deep down, you know may not be the whole truth – because you’ve heard the rumblings of a different truth. But that different truth messes with your head…messes with your ideology…messes with your comfort zone.

And that different truth comes from people you can’t relate to.

So you cling to the ‘truth’ that everyone you can relate to believes in, squeezing tight to keep the boat from rocking.

I think I’m in that boat.

And it’s rocking.

This time, though, I won’t close my eyes to steady it.

I’m no longer willing to die blind with nasty, putrid things growing on my conscience.

Things like….

….ignoring an ‘Other’s‘ cry for justice, using our selective ‘truth’ to contribute to their pain.

hijab-protest

….allowing my pleasure, my part in celebratory non-‘truths,’ to overwrite the suffering, devastation, or genocide of people I can’t relate to.

american-indian

….minimizing, discounting, whitewashing an ‘Other’s‘ experience of living inside our ‘truth.’

the-help-book-cover

But wait.

Life is good. I’m happy. I’ve learned, along with everyone else in my culture, how to lighten up, go with the flow, keep the boat steady.

So, why rock it now?

Guess I’m feeling brave again.

Not sure how long the feeling will last this time, but when it comes, I like to run with it. Because each time I do, it strengthens me for the next time. And I need that strength. Letting the boat rock is terrifying. Sometimes, I close my mind, and it’s smooth sailing again.

But sometimes…I let myself fall in.

And Life explodes.

psychedelic-colors

Into a brilliant light of psychedelic yummy. I shine on the inside. An all-fulfilling, delicious, nutritious, bubblelicious shine that feels like nothing human.

It’s an exhilaration beyond our accepted ‘truth.’ It’s a feeling of empowerment – a feeling I don’t have when I’m herding with the cattle…keeping that boat steady.

This explosion of psychedelic yummy makes me believe I can do something about things.

It makes me feel brave enough to turn around in the herd and walk the opposite way. It makes me believe I can make changes that reflect everyone, not just the group with the most people of the same ilk.

What is this psychedelic yummy?

It’s the sheer terror and brilliant joy of taking the hand of someone you can’t relate to, and walking with your mind wide open straight into their truth.

Not your imagined belief of their truth.

woman_peeking_through_blinds

Their actual truth.

black-and-white-hands-intertwined

Letting them lead you in. Ears first, assumptions last.

Hell yeah, it’s difficult, dangerous, deadly even. You may be decimated by the herd. You have to keep your guard up, be on the lookout for fear, judgement and defensiveness – within yourself – so you can smack it down and keep on walking into the reality of the ‘Other.’

Right into their experience, their pain, their struggle for equality, their fight for all manner of survival – physical, emotional, cultural.

Into their reduced status within society, their limited agency and, more often than not, their outright invisibility within our ‘truth.’

But this is a journey we can’t make on our own; that would be like thinking we could sail through a tsunami having never been in a boat. This is a journey we must let them lead us into. Because we don’t know.

We. Don’t. Know.

We only think we do.

This journey…there’s nothing like it. Scary as hell, for sure. But I’ve been a passenger on this journey many times, and I’ve always come out alive. Ten fingers, ten toes…the only things lost were ignorant notions.

In fact, I’ve always come out more alive than I’ve ever been. Nasty, putrid inner things shatter into crystals of light as you walk in that frightening, brilliant joy down that new road into the opposite of your ‘truth.’

But here’s the thing: you can’t see the light with your eyes closed.

light-shining-though-trees


81 thoughts on “Whose Truth?

  1. Pingback: Limits | Sylver Blaque

  2. Pingback: Booty-Licious | Sylver Blaque

  3. Pingback: Is China Losing It’s Grip? | Sylver Blaque

  4. Pingback: Society 101: Human Gorilla Games | Sylver Blaque

  5. Pingback: Seeing in the Dark | Sylver Blaque

  6. Pingback: Minority Defense Pretense: No-Apology Hypocrisy | Sylver Blaque

  7. Pingback: Diary of an American Girl’s Journeys to the Forbidden Land (Excerpt 8) | Sylver Blaque

  8. Pingback: A Day in the Life: Fa La La La La – La La La – La! | Sylver Blaque

  9. Pingback: A Day in the Life: Happy Thanksgiving / Celebrating Genocide | Sylver Blaque

  10. Pingback: Systemic Perpetuation: All Hail Fallacious History | Sylver Blaque

  11. Pingback: Civilization | Sylver Blaque

  12. Pingback: Tirawa | Sylver Blaque

  13. Pingback: Native American Indian News Reel | Sylver Blaque

  14. Pingback: The Columbus Myth | Sylver Blaque

  15. Pingback: Medieval Massacre: Columbus “Discovers” America (Part 3) | Sylver Blaque

  16. Pingback: Medieval Massacre: Columbus “Discovers” America (Part 1) | Sylver Blaque

  17. Pingback: Happy Thanksgiving: Celebrating Genocide | Sylver Blaque

  18. Pingback: Bill O’Reilly: “I don’t want to go on a lynching party against Michelle Obama, UNLESS…” | Sylver Blaque

  19. Pingback: The Eyes Have It: Non-Hunters | Sylver Blaque

  20. Pingback: Never Fear | Sylver Blaque

  21. Pingback: World News Wednesday Focus: The Journalistic Notion of Objectivity: Missing White Girl Syndrome (Part 1) | Sylver Blaque

  22. Pingback: The Eyes Have It: Hunters | Sylver Blaque

  23. Pingback: Serial Killer | Sylver Blaque

  24. Pingback: Legacy of the Arab Spring | Sylver Blaque

  25. Pingback: Fat-Lovers | Sylver Blaque

  26. Pingback: A Day In The Life | Sylver Blaque

  27. Pingback: Bringing the World to Kids | Sylver Blaque

  28. Pingback: The American Smile | Sylver Blaque

  29. Pingback: 2016 Olympics: Will Brazil Be Ready? | Sylver Blaque

  30. Pingback: Saudi Women Awarded Voting Rights | Sylver Blaque

  31. Pingback: World Race Into Outer Space | Sylver Blaque

  32. Pingback: Missing Cat Found 5 Years Later | Sylver Blaque

  33. Pingback: Not Knowing | Sylver Blaque

  34. Pingback: Bloody Bitches: Pliny’s Pros & Other Cons | Sylver Blaque

  35. Pingback: The War on Muslim Hijabs | Sylver Blaque

  36. Pingback: Bloody Bitches: She-Midas | Sylver Blaque

  37. Pingback: Memory of Madagascar Rainforest | Sylver Blaque

  38. Pingback: Amish: Ordnung Menswear | Sylver Blaque

  39. Pingback: Apple’s Dirty iPhone Secrets | Sylver Blaque

  40. Pingback: Syria’s Secret | Sylver Blaque

  41. Pingback: This Gives Child Bumpers a New Meaning | Sylver Blaque

  42. Pingback: Brazil’s Bombeiros All Fired Up | Sylver Blaque

  43. Pingback: Poor Me | Sylver Blaque

  44. Pingback: Shangri La | Sylver Blaque

  45. Pingback: Retrospectiveglanceback | Sylver Blaque

  46. Pingback: Amanda Knox: Convicted of Cultural Difference? | Sylver Blaque

  47. Pingback: Egypt Revolution: It Ain’t Over | Sylver Blaque

  48. Pingback: Uprooting Fear, Hatred | Sylver Blaque

  49. Pingback: Awaken | Sylver Blaque

  50. Pingback: Perspective | Sylver Blaque

  51. Pingback: No YouTube? | Sylver Blaque

  52. Pingback: Valedictorian News Coverage: The Light & Dark of It | Sylver Blaque

  53. Pingback: Cruel & Unusual | Sylver Blaque

  54. Pingback: Inspiration | Sylver Blaque

  55. Pingback: Veni, Creator Spiritus | Sylver Blaque

  56. Pingback: 10 Years From Now… | Sylver Blaque

  57. Pingback: The Help: Hollywood Whitewash? | Sylver Blaque

  58. Pingback: Nicholas Kristof on Covering Africa | Sylver Blaque

  59. Pingback: Spain Defends Bullfighting | Sylver Blaque

  60. Pingback: Are You The Perfect Girlfriend? | Sylver Blaque

  61. Pingback: My Sweet Pea | Sylver Blaque

  62. Pingback: Tampon in Your Vodka? | Sylver Blaque

  63. Pingback: A Different Kind of Love | Sylver Blaque

  64. Pingback: Sweet Memory of Afghanistan | Sylver Blaque

  65. Pingback: Charlie, and Other Baby Bytes | Sylver Blaque

  66. Pingback: The Help | Sylver Blaque

  67. Pingback: “Awaken Me When It’s Done” | Sylver Blaque

  68. Pingback: Feel Good | Sylver Blaque

  69. Pingback: They Are Us | Sylver Blaque

  70. Pingback: Shear Your Inner Sheep | Sylver Blaque

  71. Pingback: The Journalistic Notion of Objectivity: Missing White Girl Syndrome (Part 1) | Sylver Blaque

  72. Pingback: My Op-Ed / The Journalistic Notion of Objectivity: Missing White Girl Syndrome | Sylver Blaque

  73. Pingback: The Journalistic Notion of Objectivity: Missing White Girl Syndrome (Part 2) | Sylver Blaque

  74. Sylver, this is absolutely stunning. I hope that all who read it will do so with open eyes, open minds, & open hearts. I hope all will reflect on it will take the time for some introspection, as I will. I hope someday people will truly understand the meaning of the word “Coexist” & realize it is, indeed, possible.

    • Thank you for your kind words, Cari. It’s always so nice to meet people who are willing to ponder. I made a visit to your blog, and was duly impressed. I really do believe that one day we will all “coexist.” Not sure if our generation will still be around to see that happen, but at least we can contribute to it. I applaud your contribution! ; – >

      • You’re very welcome, Sylver. I am always willing to ponder, I realize people come into our lives for a reason, & I know there have been several times when, whatever the cause, I’ve been very guilty of losing my grip on the mantra of “Coexist” that I’d always held so dear to my heart & soul before. I think maybe all of us who believe in this concept lose our grip on it from time to time. After all, we’re only human. That’s when we most need to pick ourselves up, dust ourselves off, reach out our hand to those others who are willing to try, & recapture our belief in the powerful hope contained in that one small word–“Coexist”.

        I hope we will be around to see the concept come to fruition in our lifetime but, if not, I hope that somehow those who believe this way now will have at least managed to sow the seeds of peaceful coexistence for the next generation.

What are your thoughts? Leave a Reply...

